Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-10-13 - 2:00

I am a golden god

What was my last comment yesterday? Hopefully, things will go smoother . . . yeah, right. Work was hectic again today. It was essentially a repeat of yesterday, in that Mandeep and I ended up staying late and missing soccer so we could fix something that was screwing other people.

The distinction today was that it was something for which we were legitimately responsible. I feel strongly that yesterday I did everything I could and I still got screwed. Today's problems related to something that we should have been considering all along. In a sense, there's no way I could've known what should have been done; but it still boils down to something that was our responsibility.

In any event, we solved the problem. Again, I'm able to say that I did everything the right way. When something important had to be done, we did it. Mandeep did a kick-ass job again.

There's no point in taking that topic to the next level. I've already been trumped in the category of scary stressed-out job stories tonight; so I won't try to compete. I'll just say that I'll be happier tomorrow if work is less problematic.

Fortunately, I have somewhere else to go with tonight's installment, namely the excellent movie Almost Famous. Yes, even considering how few movies I actually see, it's amazing that I waited so long to catch this one. However, I made up for my oversight tonight, with Mandeep and Manuel.

Let's see: an acclaimed movie about a music writer . . . could this be any more up my alley? Everything about the movie was topnotch. I was sold by the time that Lester Bangs contrasted the Doors and the Guess Who. The acting was fantastic; and Kate Hudson was particularly captivating.

Almost Famous was simply an excellent, interesting, honest story with strong characters and genuine emotion. I can't say enough good things about it. In fact, a put a more fomal review up on the Tomes site.

Okay, I've convinced myself . . . tomorrow I quit my job to become a rock and roll writer :)

J.

[prev] -111- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]