Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-11-03 - 1:07

Dividends from June

Okay, so what's new since Hallowe'en? Well, I still haven't managed to shake my late schedule at work. If I head in at 10:00, stay until 6:00, and then walk home, I don't have a lot of time left for any big excitement. I was going to head in earlier today; but we had a demo scheduled for late in the afternoon; so I knew I wouldn't be getting out too early, anyway. At least I snagged a ride home today.

I guess that the highlight of yesterday was the fact that Aaron and Adeline came home with a Ghost Dog poster for me. That's so cool! You might remember how much I loved that movie. Apparently the chooches remembered, as well, which was a nice surprise. So, now I have Ghost Dog staring down at me as I type.

Today was pretty good at work; and it was highlighted by some great news. Remember the month of June, when I was working all those weekends and putting in a really big push to complete my project? Anyway, the end result was that I got the work finished and we turned it into a paper.

Well, I just found out today that our paper was accepted for Infocom! Woohoo! So, I may be off to Alaska in April to present the work that I did at the start of this year . . . how awesome is that?

This is actually the second published paper that I've co-authored; but this one is better for a few reasons. Firstly, my contribution to the other paper was less significant. I did a lot of work for it; but that work turned into a page and a half that I didn't even get to write, since I was back at school when the group wrote it.

This time, it was very much my project. Bis was definitely the main man for deciding the direction of the project; but I was the guy doing most of the hands-on work. I made a big contribution in deciding how to implement the ideas, what tests to execute, and how to write the paper.

It's also cool that Infocom is a big conference. Apparently, it's the second most important networking conference; and out of 830 submitted papers, less than 200 were accepted. So . . . hooray for me! Heheh.

Everything else is going well lately, too. I got home today and found that my copy of Ogre Battle 64 had arrived. I actually ordered the game in June, when Nick pointed me to a site that was selling it really cheap. Unfortunately, the game was delayed, so I only just received it; but it seems to be worth the wait. I love the tactical strategy games. I think that I'll probably really get into this one, which will be a switch, since I barely play video games anymore.

So, lots of good things happening here. And I'm definitely expecting to have a fun time at our party Saturday night. It's primarily Maneesh's party, with his swim team comprising the bulk of the crowd; but hopefully, the few people who I invited will also make it. In any event, it's sure to be a fun time.

J.

[prev] -123- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]