Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-11-23 - 0:53

Plash

As I've said before, one of the advantages of having three roommates is that sometimes you get to come home after work, take it easy, and still get a kick-ass meal. Sunday I had butter chicken, courtesy of The Limper, and tonight it was Aaron's lasagna . . . can't complain.

Tomorrow, I'll be sleeping in late and picking up my PJ Harvey concert tickets before I go to work. Yeah, I could order them online; but I've had troubles following that option before (remember my Chili Peppers experience?); and I have a paranoia that the show will sell out fast. So, I'll go for the sure thing and be happy.

Speaking of music (as always), I had a cool batch of CDs arrive today, highlighted by two more Takako Minekawa discs. Chat Chat is her first disc; and I found it less bold than Cloudy Cloud Calculator, but still quite interesting. At times, it is almost too cutesy; but it's definitely cool.

Fun9, a more recent release is also a great listen. I am now even more psyched on Takako. You know, I was thinking lately that I've succeeded in catching most of my must-see-live bands in concert: Black Sabbath, Rollins Band, PJ Harvey, Fugazi, Fishbone, even Einst�rzende Neubauten. I expect to catch Nick Cave next year, since he has an album slated for release in the spring. Maybe I'll have to put Takako Minekawa on my list, just so I can have a true challenge again! Now that one would be tough to pull off.

Oh yeah, one other thing about my new Takako discs: I was really surprised to see a thank you to Black Sabbath in the liner notes for Chat Chat . . . at least until I heard the track "Clover," which outright steals the guitar from Sabbath's instrumental "Fluff"! Ah well . . . at least I was able to pick up my guitar and play along the very first time that I heard the song (heheh).

Not too much else is up today. Work was fine. I managed to find my next long-term project today, so I essentially gave myself some work to do. That's cool. It's still pretty relaxed in there lately, after the big push that we put on for the release date. I'm enjoying the casual atmosphere.

The last couple of days almost felt like the spring again, when I used to hang out with Greg and Mandeep; and Greg and I would argue with Mandeep about his project ideas. (And we'd argue with each other, and the two of them would go out of their way to exasperate me, and other such fun.)

The other cool thing today was that I talked to Damien for the first time in ages, when he sent a message to my computer. It's cool to be able to catch up with an old friend like that. I guess that the Internet has it's uses, after all (heheh) . . . but I'm still picking up my tickets in person.

(Tune in another day for the baffling saga of a computer programmer/technophobe.)

J.

[prev] -136- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]