Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-06-08 - 1:37

Make you feel that way

I'm a little late on this discovery; but Blackalicious kick ass. I picked up Blazing Arrow yesterday and I'm loving it. The collaboration with Chali of J5 is incredible; and the entire disc has sonic and emotional depth.

I've already worked the album in by using it as the accompanying soundtrack for my walk home tonight, with things on my mind. Seeing Angela again left me a bit down. I've always found her incredibly easy to get along with; and it would have been interesting to cross paths with her in another reality--one in which she didn't live so far away and one in which I saw her more frequently than once or twice a year. Of course, she didn't really understand that Mick Harvey album I was listening to once upon a time, so perhaps the prospects were limited; but I'm sure that we'd have been good friends.

At any rate, that kind of transient contact, as enjoyable as it was, left me feeling very finite. The notion that possibilities and people and time are limited, while not a particularly arguable or obscure concept, is nonetheless unsettling.

Hmm . . . I'm going to be mentally fucked up again this birthday, aren't I? Heheh. Nah, actually, it should be cool; although, sandwiched between two concerts, it'll be overshadowed.

Oh, speaking of which, I was checking out the Dirty Loop site again today; and now I have a slightly more concrete expectation of what the Clouddead show will be like. At least, I know which artists belongs to which projects. Odd Nosdam and Why? (two-thirds of Clouddead) are part of Reaching Quiet, which also features a guitarist, bassist, and drummer; Doseone (the third member of Clouddead) is working with Boom Bip; and Radioinactive also includes live instrumentation. I am definitely intrigued for that concert.

In related news, the latest Buck 65 newsletter mentioned that he will be appearing on DJ Signify's next album, along with Sage Francis. Buck, Sage, and Signify . . . how cool is that?

Okay, that's enough moody and musical rambling for tonight. Between waking up at 7:30 to watch England beat Argentina (which was an entertaining game) and having a Montreal trip in the works tomorrow, sleep sounds like an appealing option right now.

I got my bow, I got my fire.

J.

[prev] -472- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]