Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-02-11 - 1:46

Or is it a pizza?

I'd say that the highlight of last week was my neighbour noticing me having fun shovelling and plowing my driveway. Proper.

Well, either that or dropping "jaunted" for my first play of Scrabble on Friday, with the "J" counting in two directions on a double letter tile. Booya, grandma: 93 points!

I slept about as much as comfortably possible on Saturday, waking up enough to eat and to curse my way through new computer problems. I ended up having to reinstall Windows; but all seems fine now. Mayhap something was wonkified during the string of power losses that preceded my recent acquisition of a new power supply.

Sunday, I caught MacHomer at the NAC. A one-man play of Macbeth as interpreted through the cast of The Simpsons. What more need I say? The performance was hilarious; and I was impressed with how well it flowed. At any rate, that's as cultured as I get.

Laurie and I stayed downtown until nightfall, so we could take a look at the ice sculptures as they were lit up. As always, the sculptures are a bright spot in a long winter. Considering the warm temperatures of the last couple of days, though, it's good that we saw them when we did.

Last night we saw Bus 174 at the Bytowne. That was quite intense. The movie did a good job of providing different perspectives and of interspersing the unfolding of the hijacking with a look at the back story. A bleak story; but that's humanity, for you. If I get back to the Bytowne to see Fog of War this month, I think that I'll have already met this year's movie quota.

On the concert front, Coachella did shake down approximately as expected. It still remains to be determined if people are up for making the trip with me; but I am definitely inclined to go. In other excellent news, The Black Heart Procession is stopping in Montreal on March 22. Oooh, aaah.

Also, this Villain Accelerate CD that the guy at CD Warehouse picked out for me tonight is killer: Sixtoo and Stigg of the Dump. More instrumental excellence.

J.

[prev] -667- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]