Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-08-16 - 0:58

Remember the Coop

After a rather quiet summer for concerts (partly due to missing a few while I was away), it looks like the fall will be a good one. In a two-week span from September to October, I have the chance to see: Sixtoo and DJ Signify, Julie Doiron, Franz Ferdinand, Magnolia Electric Co., Alice Cooper, and Metallica. Before that stretch, other possibilities are Carolyn Mark, Wil, and The Sadies. Unfortunately, Carolyn Mark is playing Wakefield, not Ottawa, which may put the kibosh on that plan.

The Franz Ferdinand and Magnolia Electric Co. shows are part of the Pop Montreal festival, so I'm guessing that Laurie and I will just make that a weekend-plus trip to Montreal. Some of the other bands on the bill look promising. (Actually, Carolyn Mark is in that line-up, too; but her show is on a Thursday, which would require squeezing another day into the trip.)

I already have my tickets for Cooper (seated) and Metallica (floor!), each of whom I'll be seeing live for the first time after many, many years of listening. I have high expectations for those shows. I've been slowly working on turning Laurie on to the Coop, so hopefully the live show should seal the deal. (At about 100 bucks a pop for Metallica tickets, though, I'm on my own for that one.)

Also in the musical vein, I finally caught up on some web site updates the other day, including another overlong recounting of the two Einst�rzende Neubauten concerts that I saw in April, as well as a bunch of pictures from 2003. Yeah, I know that it's bad when last year's pictures constitute news; but the photo section of my page had slipped in priority.

Settling back into the groove since the vacation hasn't been so bad. Work was kinda slow last week, since our Internet provider had some serious issues and their response effort sucked. Things should be rolling again this week, though.

J.

[prev] -690- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]