Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-09-11 - 0:38

Put it out, put it out

Summer is winding down to the point where it's starting to get cool at night. I did manage the usual summer send-off, inviting a few folks over for the Labour Daybour-cue. I do believe that I had what was probably my favourite T-bone of the year, so it's all good.

The boss was away for the past week-plus, which kept things quieter at the office. It was back to working with Greg on the big new project, which is fun coding, with only a few customer interruptions. There are rumblings of more activity from the customer that I had to visit in May. Hopefully, we'll be able to head things off at the pass, keep everybody happy, and keep me from flying to Cedar Rapids again. We shall see.

I'd say that my travel options will be limited for the near future, anyway, since I am quite booked with concert plans. Since I last rattled off my list of upcoming shows, we added the Fiery Furnaces, who are playing Montreal tomorrow. This addition came at Laurie's request, but after giving their two CDs several listens, I'm sure that it should be an intriguing experience. Since it's a late gig, it'll be an overnight trip to Montreal, which should be fun, too.

We'll be heading back at the end of the month for a longer stay, to take in Pop Montreal, which finally has a definitive schedule. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like we'll be adding any shows to the previous plan, which was Franz Ferdinand and Magnolia Electric Co. However, I've recently concluded that the Magnolia CD is one of the best albums released in the past couple of years; so I'm expecting that concert to rank with the year's best (Sage Francis, Desert Sessions, Neubauten, and Black Heart Procession).

Oh, also since I last wrote, Matt and Erin made another trip to Ottawa; and we all saw Napolean Dynamite, which was quite fantastic, in its own odd way. ("Girls only want boyfriends who have great skills. You know, like nunchuck skills, bowhunting skills, computer hacking skills . . .")

On a final note, assuming that my counting skills remain up to par, the Furnaces show tomorrow will be the 100th concert that I've seen. Feel free to join me in celebrating this historic milestone.

J.

[prev] -692- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]