Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-02-16 - 23:44

Literally, the conundrums!

The Neko Case concert on Friday was another great show. Uncharacteristically, I already have my review online. (I don't think that I ever mentioned writing my reviews for Joel Plaskett Experience or Bright Eyes, but those are up, as well.)

Neko was playing with the Sadies, which made for a very different show. Although I missed hearing Jonny's lap steel guitar, it's great that on my fifth Neko concert, she continues to offer something new. The newer songs sounded great; but I was most impressed by "Furnace Room Lullaby."

I also had the best spot on the floor for the concert, standing against the stage directly in front of Neko. Unfortunately, she kept the setlist; but that was really my only complaint for the night. As always, it was fun to do the Montreal concert road trip; and I finally mastered the Homer Simpson Rubik's Cube during the drive. (You really only need to memorize two sequences to solve it; but I'll still call it a victory.)

Laurie and I finished off the guest room, which looks a lot better. Taking down the corner shelves and pushing the bed closer to the wall added a ton of space, which could come in handy if I feel the need for more shelving. (I think that things are pretty well organized now, though.)

The guest room will be put to use this weekend, as Laurie's relatives are visiting. The guest list has ballooned to seven (all females, too, which is extra scary). I personally consider that number logistically challenging; but we'll see how it goes.

Other than the Neko concert and fixing up the house, nothing major has been on the go, although the schedule has felt full. Laurie and I got the jump on Valentine's Day by heading to the Korea Garden on the weekend, which also gave us a chance to check out the ice sculptures. Most of the week-old ones had been pummeled by the warm weather; but the works in progress looked cool.

On Sunday, we met up with Matt and Erin, who were visting for the weekend, before getting in a good gaming/supper session with Aaron and Loralei. I finally got to try Mystery of the Abbey, as well as Bohnaparte, the other expansion to Bohnanza. Fun stuff, all around.

Oh, and the new Sage Francis album, as expected, is killer. "I don't have a god complex, you got a simple god."

J.

[prev] -708- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]