Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-04-01 - 0:37

I'm not even a member, man

I appear to be well behind on this journal, so I'm due for a quick recap. Two concert trips are new to the itenirary: Bright Eyes in Montreal (May 19) and Spoon in Toronto (June 5). Laurie has not yet made me into the Bright Eyes fan that she is; but I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning (which was the basis of the winter tour) grew on me, so I'll be sure to give Digital Ash in a Digital Urn a few spins. Spoon is also more of a Laurie show; but I have high expectations, too.

With the Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds 3-disc box set of B-sides, the Yo La Tengo 3-disc retrospective (1 CD of unreleased material), and Moby's double album all being released at the same time, I've had lots of new music to digest.

Of course, the Bad Seeds material is the highlight, even if I did already have more than a third of the songs on CD or as part of my miniscule MP3 collection. (I already had nine of the bands singles, plus a couple of soundtracks that I bought just for Cave songs.)

All of my previous scrounging was not wasted, though, as the box set contains only Bad Seeds material, not Cave's solo work, such as "There is a Light" or his cover of "Mack the Knife." It's also missing a few Bad Seeds songs I have, such as the live tracks from the Wings of Desire soundtrack. At any rate, go buy the box set.

Apart from the musical news, the past couple of weeks have been fairly busy, including a night at Yuk Yuk's for Jason's birthday; supper at the Lindenhof, along with some games, for Aaron's birthday; a going-away dealie for Amanda; and the usual ongoing bout of games. (Laurie is currently trumping me at Memoir '44; and there's a great unfinished game of 45s on hold.)

Also, I have to say that Lost looks pretty contrabulous on Nick's HD projector. Ooh . . . aah.

It sucked to hear today that Mitch Hedberg died. I did order a club sandwich tonight in his honour, though.

J.

[prev] -713- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]