Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-04-15 - 1:10

And things couldn't be better

I decree Austin, Texas a musical wonderland. Tonight's Trail of Dead show saw them prefaced by three fellow Austin bands, who tore the roof off. I can't think of a concert where I was more blown away by a set of unknown openers (The Black, The Sword, and The Octopus Project).

I walked away with CDs from The Black and The Sword, a Black setlist, one of only two intact, non-waterlogged Trail of Dead setlists, and half of a Trail of Dead bass drum skin (remnants of the final demolition). Score!

I'll have lots to say about this stellar concert. The short recap is that it was the best concert that I've seen in ages. (I knew that they were having an off day at Coachella.) Hopefully, I can squeeze in a real review before my next blast of shows.

I also saw Sarah Slean last night; and she was in fine form again. Although the previously-promised Gift of Gab show never materialized, I have taken solace in the fact that a Sage Francis gig has been added to my April schedule.

"This is one fine life."

J.

[prev] -714- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]