Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-06-15 - 23:44

Joy of painting

The last couple of weeks have been pretty rocking. Two weekends ago was the Toronto trip, which involved getting together with Richard a couple of times, spending a day at the zoo, and taking in the Spoon concert. Laurie made up for taking me to May's half-assed Bright Eyes show by: (a) getting me into Spoon in the first place and (b) making sure that I attended their stop at the Opera House.

The band was in fine form throughout the night, firing off songs with no wasted time. Although I had no chance to snag a setlist, I did come home with a drumstick (after an easy grab). We actually could have ended up with both sticks, as Laurie let the other bounce off her head. I made a grab for it on the floor but figured it'd be greedy to push it when it came down to me and one other guy. (After relating that story to Greg, though, I must confess a fondness for his idea that I should have used one drumstick as a weapon while fighting for the second.)

After getting back from Toronto and wasting a night to a terrible headache, it turned into a bit of a last-minute scramble to organize a birthday plan. I ended up getting together with the usual crew a day early for the traditional Chinese meal, as well as some games, and then going out with just Laurie on my actual birthday. Even though it was a tough challenge to top the Bob Ross "Happy Trees" T-shirt that I bought myself, I couldn't complain after taking in the last GTA game from the crew and a crystal seahorse and Chilly Chiles gift certificate from Laurie.

Still, the greatest surprise of all: OSPD4! Ki! Qi! Za! 'Tis quite exciting. So far, I have won both games with the new dictionary, so it has earned my seal of approval.

Last weekend was a continuation of festivities, as we invited Sarah and company over on Saturday to celebrate her birthday, with more games and vegan cake.

On a productive note, Laurie and I spent Sunday painting the dining room/front room, with the second coat coming last night. That turned out quite well. I think that I am going to be on the hook for painting the hallway soon, so I probably shouldn't rest too much.

I'll have to see when that job fits in, though. This coming weekend includes a day trip to Montreal for Loralei's birthday (yes, another one in June); the following weekend sees Laurie and I heading to her home for her brother's wedding; and the weekend after that is the Canada Day long weekend, which sees us hosting some company. It should be a good stretch, and since that leads into a great Bluesfest line-up (Neko Case, Broken Social Scene, Stars, Buck 65, RJD2, The Dears, Cuff the Duke, Calexico, etc.), the summer as a whole is looking solid.

Speaking of which, I may push my tentative trip home to a later date in August, as Liam tells me that he is Ottawa-bound for a week at the end of July. Proper!

J.

[prev] -720- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]