Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-07-09 - 1:46

Bluesfest: show 1

I didn't get completely caught up but I did post my overdue Death From Above 1979 recap.

Much more surprisingly, I already wrote my review for tonight's Neko Case concert at the Bluesfest. That was a great time, as always. Despite fears of rain, the skies held clear, leaving a fantastic summer night that was perfect for taking in a concert.

I got to meet Laurie's music-inclined work friends, since we ran into them at the show, although they didn't make a charge for the front of the stage as Laurie and I did for the actual concert. With all the lawn chairs that people had set up, I wasn't sure if I'd be able to get close without a ruckus; but it turned out to be no problem.

I'm hoping that I won't see so many chairs tomorrow. You wouldn't expect the Broken Social Scene/Metric/Stars crowd to be the seated type, would you? Tonight's demographic skewed surprisingly old. We weren't sure if it was a crowd that knew Neko, since the appeal of her country-ish sound would presumably include such a demographic, or if it was just old people with full passes who just knew enough to avoid the Black Eyed Peas.

Tomorrow should be an excellent day, especially if I'm able to hook up with everyone that I am supposed to see. Richard and Leah should be in town, although I didn't hear from them yet, since I was out all night. Matt and Erin also made the trip and plan on attending part of tomorrow's show. Also, Chris is visiting Greg, which should be enough to get that crew downtown.

Even though I am more excited about seeing sets from Buck 65 and The Dears later next week, tomorrow is shaping up to be a blast.

J.

[prev] -722- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]