Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-08-11 - 23:44

Double crazy kid

It seems that I'm overdue for another of my infrequent updates, running through the highlights of the past few weeks.

I saw March of the Penguins a while back, which I enjoyed as much as everyone else seems to have. I decided that I could never make it as a penguin, since I hate the cold, don't deal well with large crowds, and can't stand slow-moving lines. On the plus side, now I understand the statue that Laurie picked up at the Montreal Biodome, with the baby penguin peeking out from the legs of its mother or father. Unfortunately, I dragged my heels and missed Murderball, unless it's going to play again somewhere in this city.

Liam and V�ronique passed through town a week ago. They managed to swing by the evening before Liam flew back to Halifax, so I did the obligatory barbecue and a look at their travel pictures, which was a lot of fun. Laurie and I are headed to Halifax for vacation at the end of the month, so I'm sure we'll all get together again.

Considering that Stefan, Richard, and Liam all made it to Ottawa this summer, it wasn't a bad stretch for visitors, even if each of the stays was brief.

Laurie and I had originally thought about taking vacation at the start of this month, but pushing it back kept things free for seeing Liam and kept us from rushing back to see Magnolia Electric Co. on Saturday. That was a great concert, especially with the mighty Grand Buffet baffling the crowd with warm-up duties.

I ended up with a Magnolia setlist, as well as a signed CD and mask from Buffet. My only complaint was the relatively short set time from Magnolia, as we had no encore, and I later read that Magnolia and Buffet did the encore together elsewhere (at least in Boston). Still, it was a very good night, as noted in my full review.

In other web site news, I did a mass update of my pictures section, covering everything from 2004 (i.e., the last batch from my old camera). Check it out here, if you so desire.

J.

[prev] -724- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]