Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2006-01-24 - 1:45

124-103

"Your guilty conscience may force you to vote Democratic, but deep down inside you secretly long for a cold-hearted Republican to lower taxes, brutalize criminals, and rule you like a king." [2F02]

Well, the right guys won, although not by as much as they should have. John Baird won my riding handily, as expected. I'll have to take a look at the final tally tomorrow. We'll see how it goes from here, but at least the Liberals are out.

The Feist concert last week was great. After my usual lollygagging, I finished writing my recap tonight. I should have been worried when the girl in front of me in line was indignantly relating a story of being shushed at a previous concert; and it was a bit of a chatty crowd. Overall, though, it was a fantastic show. Feist played a ton of new songs, which went over well, and her band was a lot of fun.

That'll be my last concert at the Capital Music Hall, as the venue is closing to make way for a condominium development. The only good CD shop in town, Record Runer, is on the same block, and it closed for good this past Saturday. Could they have picked a worse block to demolish? Capital Music Hall pulled in quite a few shows that we would have otherwise missed; and losing Record Runner is heartbreaking.

In other venue news, Surface is apparently not ready for its rechristening as the New Capital Music Hall, so the Controller.Controller show has been moved to Carleton University's tiny hole in the wall, Oliver's. I'm not sure if OK Go is still supposed to be a part of the event or not.

On the plus side, I've added Cuff the Duke (Barrymore's, Feb. 25) and Soul Position (Babylon, April 12) to my planned concerts list.

Ding dong, the witch is dead!

J.

[prev] -735- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]