Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2006-07-11 - 0:57

Special delivery

Crowds are fun. A girl tonight tried to convince me that she just had to push her way past me because her friend was somewhere in that nebulous crowd area of "just ahead" and she had that friend's medicine. If there is truly someone in dire need of medicine who arranges to have said medicine delivered to them while they're in the middle of a crowd at a rock show, one hour after the headlining act started playing, I'm of the opinion that I shouldn't be facilitating the delivery of any relief that keeps this genetic material in our common pool.

Actually, the Sam Roberts crowd had an amazing number of people who believed that they should show up late and push their way through me to get closer into the nonexistent crowd space. And the opening act from The Stills was tarnished by a group of people immediately beside me who talked through the latter half of the set. And those damned kids need to get off my lawn--no wait, that's something else. At any rate, I'm well on my way to acheiving my lifelong dream of becoming a curmudgeon.

But it was still a decently fun night. Between those two bands and Matt Mays, who I saw part of after breaking for supper, I wasn't expecting an earth-shattering experience tonight. I was just looking for a fun rock show, which I got. I'll hold off on a real review but don't expect anything too in-depth from me on this one. (Not intending to imply that my reviews are ever crack journalism.)

Oh, before the statute passes on observations of this year's World Cup, I have to applaud it for setting up two great Simpsons quotes. First, the round robin phase invited the line, "This match will determine once and for all which nation is the greatest on earth: Mexico or Portugal!" And of course, the final match recalled Hank Scorpio's query, "By the way, Homer, what's your least favorite country: Italy or France?" (Nobody ever says Italy.)

J.

[prev] -747- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]