Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2006-11-01 - 22:53

Yo, we gotta get stupid

So, I'll say that Hallowe'en is worth an entry, especially since I busted out a costume for the first time in several years. With Sarah and Jason having a Hallowe'en party at their house on Saturday, I went with something that I've always said would be a dead-easy costume:

Yeaaaaaaah, booyyy!

That outfit was also a hit on Hallowe'en itself, when I got a few good reactions, including a girl on the bus asking to take my picture on my way home from work. I think that the best response, though, was from one of the trick or treaters who came to my house.

Although none of the kids seemed to recognize Flav (shouldn't you parents out there be imparting culture?), after getting his loot, one guy took a look at the clock and sped off in a hurry, yelling at his friend, "It's seven o'clock--we gotta get going!" So, apart from its other charms, the Flavor Flav outfit is quite practical and informative.

As for the jack-o-lanterns, I thought that we'd be missing out this year, since my Sunday afternoon expedition found only rotten gourds. However, Laurie managed to find two after work on Monday and we went with some patterns that Aaron found, resulting in these:

We managed to not mangle the patterns too badly. Laurie did the Flanders (with only hand tools, as usual), while I did the Burns (mostly with the Mastercraft Dremel knockoff, as usual).

I'd say that we got about 45 or 50 kids, which meant that we ended with the proper amount of leftovers, which is also a crucial factor in judging a Hallowe'en.

Overall, it was another satisfactory year.

J.

[prev] -760- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]