Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2007-01-20 - 0:45

Damn you, Hangar 18!

Okay, if even Nick is updating, then I should try to keep up, too. I spoke too soon in my last entry, as the inflatable Homer ended up ripping for a second time, just prior to the New Year's party; but everything else went well that night.

As usual, I had a few folks over for a barbecue and lots of games, video and otherwise. Aaron brought his Wii; Singstar Rocks and Guitar Hero II hit the PS2; and Lupus in Tabula and Things in a Box made their traditional appearances. As expected, Singstar reinforced the fact that I should forgo karaoke in favour of rhythm games. (I also got Elite Beat Agents for Christmas and tore through that.) I've had people over for every New Year's since I got the house and this was another great time.

Ever since the odometer rolled over to '07, the wedding has been looming large. Laura and Erin, who comprise half of Laurie's bridesmaids, made a trip up the first weekend in January to help her with shopping and planning. Last weekend, her mother and sister did likewise. Things seem to be coming together for that. So they tell me, anyway. I think that all I have to do for this thing is show up in a suit, right?

This weekend is visitor-free, so I should be able to get back to ripping up the basement floor without ignoring any company. Well, it's either that or more Guitar Hero II but I'm down to the last few songs on Expert and I think that they're going to kick my ass for a while.

Things are very quiet on the concert front. The few shows that I have wanted to see lately have been ruled out by scheduling conflicts. I may end up not seeing anything prior to Slayer in February, which is making for my longest concert gap in years. If only touring bands had known that they didn't have to avoid the Ottawa winter this year as it hadn't really started before this week.

J.

[prev] -764- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]