Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2007-03-30 - 1:50

Bimonthly update

Well, I didn't mean to drop off of this site for two months but I've had no motivation to write. Maybe the problem was the relative scarcity of concerts, which is all that I usually write about, anyway.

There was some big news in the meantime. Most notably, my parents aren't just getting to see one of their sons get married this year, they're also getting their first grandkid. Fortunately, I'm only the first half of that combo, though, so it's all good. It should be an interesting fall, at any rate.

I'm also getting new neighbours soon, as the old folks next door sold their house. When I spoke to them in the fall (the lady is particularly chatty), they had been thinking of selling but decided not to. Hopefully, the change of plans was voluntary and not brought about by any downturn in health, which would also be a distinct possibility. I haven't seen them to say hi since the "for sale" sign went up (winter tends to be hibernation mode) but I would assume that they must be leaving soon.

Speaking of winter, I'm glad to see it go, particularly as I'm feeling confident that the true sign of spring, the hockey playoffs, will be blessed with the presence of the Habs. They've been on an awesome run, with Kovalev coming through down the stretch, as I said he would. I'm also more impressed by Plekanec every game. I think that he must be the smartest player on the team because every time that I'm watching the Habs and yelling at the TV, he's the only one who listens to me.

On the concert front, I only saw two shows recently: Slayer in February (as recapped here) and Heaven and Hell (a.k.a., the Dio version of Black Sabbath) on Wednesday (as reviewed here). The Slayer show was a fun time, as always; but the show this week was stellar. In addition to Sabbath, who were awesome, of course, Megadeth and Down were also great.

The only downside was one overly aggro guy right next to me in the crowd who started swinging elbows when he got bumped a bit and got his fists up in some guy's face. I had him pegged as a problem before that but it's still an intrusion when you're trying to enjoy a show and you think a fight might break out three feet away from you. Fortunately, everyone else was cool, so it was a fun vibe, overall; but that was still a stupid overreaction for a show that was very mellow on physical contact. (It's not like people mosh to Sabbath as if they're Slayer.)

The concert schedule is finally about to pick up, though. I already have tickets for Interpol, Tapes 'N Tapes, and Feist; and there are a few others shows that I'm likely to catch, including Apostle of Hustle (the new album is solid) and Wayne Petti.

Oh, in addition to those concert reviews (of which, only the Heaven and Hell was well written, to be honest), I also updated the pictures section on my other site, picking out some sets from last summer and fall, including my trip to Banff. Checka-check it out, if you're so inclined.

I'm sure that I had more to write about but this will have to do for now.

J.

[prev] -766- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]