Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2007-11-18 - 2:08

I'm on the Mexican radio

So, time continues to fly by. It's hard to believe that it has been more than a month since the wedding but considering that our honeymoon starts in about eight hours, I guess that it must be true.

I never did get back on here to add more post-wedding recaps but I do have some pictorial updates on my other site that fill in some of the blanks. I've added seven galleries to my pictures section: that Dears concert from way back before Canada Day, a couple of Gatineau Park trips, two weddings (not ours), Montebello (the getaway that we took in the middle of our post-wedding week off), and Hallowe'en.

Of the whole lot, the Montebello shots are the prettiest. We got some nice sunny weather for hiking around the nature trails, where the leaves were showing the fall colours. I'm also pretty happy with the two batches of wedding photos, although I wish that we would have photographed every course in Giulia's wonderfully excessive Italian wedding feast.

Also on the wedding photo front, we heard back from our photographer. While the full proofs weren't ready yet, she did put together a fantastic slide show of what she considered to be some of the best pictures. We're really happy with the results there.

As usual, I had a couple of concert recaps to work in with my site update. One was an old one that I finally posted: Magnolia Electric Co. and The Watson Twins, who played Zaphod's at the start of October. Sadly, that was the only show that I saw in a span of almost four months after Bluesfest. It was a very good one, though. The Watson Twins sounded great (and one of them thanked me for coming to the front of the floor) and Magnolia Electric Co. is always dependable.

More recently, Laurie and I caught Bluebird North, a showcase put on by the Songwriters Association of Canada. That event put five singer-songwriters on stage, taking turns playing acoustically. It was a small show; and I suspect that some people who would have enjoyed it either didn't hear of it or were attending Joel Plaskett's sold-out concert (which I would have also loved to have seen). I went for Jason Collett but was also very impressed by Pascale Picard, who is apparently something of a star in Quebec, although I can't say that I had heard of her. Really, the whole night was good.

This week sees Final Fantasy and The Sadies touching down in Ottawa . . . so, of course, this ended up being when we booked our honeymoon. I don't think that we'll mind too much when we're in Mexico, though, especially since I actually saw the first snowflakes of the season on Friday afternoon. We booked a stay at a resort on the Mayan Riviera, which should be excellent.

J.

[prev] -780- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]