Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-06-09 - 2:55

Someone's daughter

"I told you I loved you, now what more can I do?" Okay . . . Beth didn't play that song tonight (and, for that matter, I never told you); but it's still a good opening line.

The Beth Orton concert tonight in Montreal was beautiful. I had the absolute best spot on the floor: right against the stage, perfectly centred in front of Beth. Too cool.

It doesn't matter that I've seen fifty concerts; there's still something incredible to me about seeing a band live. After having listened to both of Beth's albums dozens of times over the past couple of years, it felt surreal to look up (and up . . . she is a tall girl) and see her so close. For most of the night, I all but blocked out the fact that there was a crowd behind me and just danced away, taking in the music.

I did have that bubble broken during the encore, but in a positive way, when some supercute girl grabbed me and asked to dance. So, on top of the amazing show, I also got to dance my way through the end of "Blood Red River" with her. Not too shabby.

I talked to her for a few minutes after the show. Sometime, I'll have to find a girl worth chasing after in a concert that isn't taking place in a city I plan on leaving within the hour. Ah well. It still made me feel good to dance my way into my birthday (well, to within an hour of it, at least).

I was feeling generous (and perhaps distracted), so I let some other girl snag the set list that was sitting in front of me; but even without that aid, I'll be able to fire off a real review tomorrow. I can say that the new material is very strong and I'm definitely looking forward to the forthcoming album.

"Reality never lives up to all that it used to be," she sang; but some nights it truly does.

J.

[prev] -473- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]