Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-06-14 - 13:37

Don't you lose the faith

A quick entry, since I really oughta be making my way to the airport soon. The Dears show last night was my favourite of the six times that I have seen them (three times as headliners). The sound quality was almost flawless, with the exception of the female vocals being a bit low, and that's really a must for a band with such a deeply layered sound.

Being right at the front helped, too; being able to gape at George's frantic drumming adds much to the show. The band is undeniably much more fierce live than on recording, and while the band as a whole does their part to up the intensity, I think that it is the drumming the really propels their live energy.

Of course, Murray was strong, as always; and the band's cohesion drove them through some blazing instrumental stretches, notably the set-opening "Postcard from Purgatory" and the freak-out session that led into "Pinned Together, Falling Apart." The finish to the latter effort saw George pounding the drums; while Martin flailed away on his bass while rolling on the floor; and Murray was humping his amps with his guitar, detuning it all the while. All romantic pop bands should be so noisy.

Speaking of noisy shows, tomorrow is Rollins Band with Keith Morris performing a set of Black Flag songs. That should be a unique experience. I have high hopes. I also get to meet Paul and Mr. McPeak, whom I have only spoken with online, so that should be fun. Well . . . apart from the fact that Jon has promised to pick me up at the airport--literally--and he is a fairly big lad. So, if you don't hear from me on Monday, it means that I met an untimely end in Boston at the hands of Internet ruffians.

But it's all in the name of rock and roll, so who could complain?

J.

[prev] -620- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]