Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-01-05 - 1:18

B. Ver

Seeing that tomorrow morning I am back to work, I guess that I should do my Christmas wrap-up. As usual, the break was much appreciated.

After a mildly disconcerting delay in obtaining a cab to the airport, I caught my flight to Halifax, where I stayed for a little over a week. My checklist of goals for the break was see the family, see Liam, and see Return of the King, which was easily accomplished.

Apart from that, I took it quite easy, sleeping in, reading, and listening to CDs. I find that I don't devote the time that I previously did to really absorbing new albums, so it's good to have a stretch like that.

The break at home felt like a decent amount of time; and it was good to get back to Ottawa Monday night and see Laurie again. Since then, I've mostly been hanging out here with her.

I hosted another New Year's get-together, although this time, we all stayed at my house, which I preferred to last year, when we went out after supper. With twelve people coming in for the barbecue, I was pretty busy getting the place ready and taking care of the grilling and serving other food; but I enjoyed it a lot. Admittedly, not the wildest party in town but quite probably the best bacon-wrapped scallops. Everyone seemed to have a good time, which was cool.

Since then, I've been interspersing stints of playing Ratchet & Clank 2 with eating my way through copious leftovers and taking care of some things on the computer. I also popped out with Laurie to catch House of Sand and Fog, which was a strong and unique story.

So, a fairly straightforward break, perhaps; but definitely a much appreciated one.

J.

[prev] -660- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]