Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-01-08 - 2:24

Oh-three

The high temperature for tomorrow is supposed to be -21 degrees. Did I mention that my best Christmas gifts were a toque and a scarf? Well, unless you count Ratchet & Clank 2, which encourages me to dodge the weather entirely and stay inside all day. (If only I could get around the whole work dealie.)

Should I add some kind of look back at the year past? Well, going into 2003, I had never seen Yo La Tengo in concert. In April, when I saw them play Montreal, I was thinking, "It's too bad that Laurie isn't here for this one." By October, Laurie was beside me for back-to-back Yo La concerts. That's the kind of year that it was for me.

I met Laurie partially via Diaryland and partially because of The Dears; but predominantly because of the Dirty Three. Naturally, that concert and its aftermath were my highlights for 2003.

Staying on the concert front, 2003 was among my best years. I took in thirty shows, including acts such as Rollins Band, Buck 65 (four times), The Dears (three times), Bonnie "Prince" Billy, The White Stripes, Godspeed You Black Emperor, DJ Vadim, Jurassic 5, Atmosphere, Brother Ali, Eyedea & Abilities, Belle and Sebastian, Neko Case, and Anthrax.

Travel was minimal this year, although I did get to Boston in the summer for Rollins, to San Jose/San Fransisco for work, and home for Christmas. Other than that, it was the usual few stints to Toronto and Montreal, although with some more extended stays than I usually make.

Housewise, I did rather little after fixing up the bedroom in the spring; but I at least made it through another year of paying the mortgage. In that vein, I can say that work is going even better these days. It has always been a fun gig; but there were more reasons for optimism this year, which is a welcome sign given the state of the industry.

Definitely a fantastic year, even if I did suffer an inordinate number of Scrabble defeats. (And even if I did miss my opportunity for everlasting greatness: Simpsons trivia night on NTN.)

J.

[prev] -661- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]