Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-01-21 - 1:04

Perpetuity

So far, January has been doing its best to encourage hibernation, although the worst chills have (hopefully) passed. I'm not sure if the guys we had visiting last week from the California office will be keen on returning anytime in the near future, though.

On the plus side, people have taken sympathy on me on the worst days, so I've snagged a few rides home. There is also some possibility that I'll be off to Phoenix again in February, which would be a good change of climate.

Aside from work, I've only ventured out occasionally. A couple of weekends back, Laurie and I helped her cousin move into a new apartment. She had been screwed over by a dodgy landlady and was moving from a furnished apartment to an unfurnished on short notice. As a result, I had finally found someone to take the bed that had been in my basement since I moved in.

Laurie and I had a rather difficult time navigating the box spring around the stairs. I was reasonably sure that it was unlikely that the bed had been set in place and the house had been built around it; but it still took quite a few cracks to figure out the pivot.

Also in this month was a glorious Trivial Pursuit victory--achieved via a Shatner question, no less--and a trip out for Guilia's birthday this past weekend.

The concert schedule had been in its usual winter lull; but the prognosis has improved rapidly. On Friday, we plan to see My Dad vs. Yours at the NAC and then jet over to Babylon for Jim Guthrie. Saturday night is White Cowbell Oklahoma. I am uncertain if Laurie is in for that one or not; but it oughta be quite the spectacle.

The big, big, big news, though is that the North American leg of the Einst�rzende Neubauten tour is shaping up; and it includes Canadian dates! I thought that I was going to have to fly for this tour; but there is already a confirmed stop in Toronto on April 28th and a claim that a Montreal date will be added. The Toronto concert is unfortunately on a Wednesday; but I'll take a couple of days off work so I can catch that one (I already have tickets). If Montreal is added, I'll catch both shows.

The concert front has been quiet since November; but now I have a major concert to be psyched about for three months.

J.

[prev] -662- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]