Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-06-10 - 23:07

Ticket stubs and birthday cards, the sound of the buzzing lights

So, not only did I win the pool at Laurie's work; but Giulia and I took second at Broadway's, which means that we'll be splitting about 500 bones. Sweet! (And timely, since June is an expensive month for me.)

Yesterday was birthday 27, which was a good one. Laurie gave me too much, predictably; and then we went out to see Hayden play at Carleton. I hadn't seen Hayden before; but he is great in concert. His diversionary stories don't quite reach the levels of Julie Doiron, although they lean that direction and are similarly amusing. (Apparently, he will be waiting for an article to come out to find out if he fell asleep during a phone interview yesterday.)

His music came across very well, too. I hadn't realized that his songs tend to be so short until I saw him pack so many into his set. Solid.

Maybe old age is catching up with me; but I am definitely passing out early tonight, so I'll have to wrap it up here. Thank Tampa Bay again for me . . .

J.

[prev] -682- [next]

[View or add comments (3)]