Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-09-12 - 23:44

Montreal quick-hitter

Shockingly, not only am I updating here without my now-standard fortnight pause, I've already updated my concert reviews page in response to The Fiery Furnaces show.

The short Montreal trip went very well, with the only snag being a surprise change in venue (from El Salon to the Main Hall), which moved the concert farther from our hotel. We actually didn't discover the update until we noticed the new venue listed in the Fiery Funaces entry of the Cheap Thrills tickets list. It's lucky for us that we decided to go CD shopping before the show. (Okay, so maybe it wasn't such a long shot.) Considering the Cheap Thrills staffer's opinion of El Salon, maybe the change was for the best; but I had never been to either venue, so I can't testify to the truth.

At any rate, the concert was a blast. The Furnaces definitely offered something unique, in the way that they deconstructed their material. I ended up snagging a setlist and a broken drumstick as souveneirs, after spending the whole concert at the very front of the floor. I was also quite impressed with The Lovely Feathers, a Montreal group who opened the night, so it was a fantastic time, overall.

Other than the CD shopping and the concert, we didn't have a lot of spare time in Montreal. We settled for hitting Laurie's favourite vegetarian restaurant and watching Canada's latest World Cup victory (which was a scary game).

Today, we made it back in time for a fun pot luck with my coworkers, hosted as Greg and Kelly's. Amazingly, the boss avoided talking about work. I think that he is mellowing with age.

Not a bad weekend, at all. One more win for Canada and all will be as it should.

J.

[prev] -693- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]