Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-10-17 - 23:26

Soppier

Well, work did kick my ass to some extent last week, as I was averaging a few hours a night of coding from home. I didn't end up cursing at the computer too much, though; and I called a stop to my side of things somewhere past midnight on Thursday.

Friday, we made our Toronto trip for the PJ Harvey concert. In defiance of past accusations regarding my bus-related lateness, I have to say that we were early for every engagement, a trend that started on Friday morning when Laurie neglected to move her alarm ahead an hour.

We also ended up lining up quite early for the concert, which worked out well, because it let us hang out with Richard and Leah and to secure a very good position on the floor. As for the show, I have call it my favourite PJ Harvey concert yet. When I last saw her play four years ago, she only rocked a 65-minute set, so Friday's hour-and-a-half offering was a redemption.

Even if she didn't quite reach the heights that I saw in '98 for "Taut" (perhaps still my favourite single song performance from any concert), the overall experience was even greater than shows past. "Meet Ze Monsta," "There Will Never Be a Better Time," "Victory," "50 Ft. Queenie," "Down by the Water," several unreleased or obscure songs . . . what's not to love?

For the long version, you can read my usual rambling recap, which was aided by the download of the entire show bootleg on BitTorrent, courtesy of an expeditious fan. (Merci!)

Just don't look through the previous five shows on my site, as they're all currently missing reviews. If this week stays reasonably mellow, I hope to start tackling the gaps.

In other news, I recently purchased Everything Scrabble, which is heartily recommended, if you are a Scrabble fan. Although it took a few tries over the past few weeks, tonight I finally met my goal of beating Laurie for the second time (although I was worried after she snagged both blanks). I've played a bingo in each of my last four games, though, so I think that I am on the rise. I just have to keep Laurie from also reading the book.

J.

[prev] -697- [next]

[View or add comments (1)]