Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-11-23 - 23:11

Red hot?

I appear to be two weekends behind on my updates, meaning that I didn't mention the Eyedea & Abilities concert last Sunday that lasted until 3:00 AM. While that was perhaps excessive, it was a great show. For once, I have to say that Abilities outshined his partner, especially during the half-hour improvised encore. His exchange of turntablism with Skratch Bastid was a joy.

Actually, the whole encore was a treat, as one of the members of Los Nativos alternated between percussion and vocals, while Eyedea and Illogic freestyled. That show was my favourite of the three that I have seen from E&A.

The concert push continued on Wednesday, when Hayden touched down at the Capital Music Hall. Surprisingly, I already have a full review for this show. The short summary is that Hayden was great again; and I really enjoyed Cuff the Duke, who served as both the opening act and his backing band. The concert was hindered somewhat by overly chatty people, although the couple beside me did pipe down after I asked them to do so, halfway through the concert. (They were just over-eager fans talking about the show a bit too much, as opposed to the truly evil talkative concert-goers.)

Also on the recap front, I added my Metallica review. I will try to catch up with my backlog soon: Alice Cooper, Beastie Boys, and Eyedea & Abilities.

The only bad news musically is that the Fishbone show at Barrymore's has apparently been canceled, which is a major loss. As of yet, there has been no explanation given; and the other Canadian dates are still for sale.

I finally settled on my Christmas plans. This is going to be the first year that I don't make it home, instead settling on a quick trip to Laurie's and some time off here. On the plus side, though, we decided to put up a tree this year, which will be a first for me. Stay tuned to find out if it stays upright for the holidays.

The Grey Cup was held here last Sunday. I was too cheap to go, which is just as well, because who would want to pay money to see the Argos win? Ah well. Tabbies in '05!

J.

[prev] -701- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]