Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-12-03 - 0:13

And it was good

The weekend concerts went very well. On Saturday, Ron Sexsmith and Sarah Slean impressed me, as I have detailed. Laurie was right in predicting that I'd appreciate Slean more in a live setting; and Ron Sexsmith was also quite cool, in a laid-back way.

Sunday marked my first concert on the other side of the river, as the Pixies touched down in Gatineau. This show made a good companion piece to Coachella. Although my previous observation that the band is rather static on stage remains true, it was a lot easier to see their interactions this time around. Being pressed against the railing, able to actually see the band, made for a better concert than standing behind 30,000 people and watching the group on video screens.

Although I'm not a huge fan, I thought that they certainly played a good set, tearing through the songs at a frantic pace. I'll catch up with a formal review someday. (I still have some others in the queue.)

The Fishbone saga rolls on, as the band temporarily rescheduled their Ottawa concert for Babylon before postponing the whole leg of the tour. Hopefully, they'll work something out. As it stands, I still have the Death From Above 1979 show on the horizon.

We've been sprucing the house up a little bit lately. On Monday, we replaced the ugly kitchen chandeleir with one that I think is rather stylin'. We also picked up a couple of funky floor lamps for the adjacent living room (formerly known as my big empty guitar room, in the days before Laurie arrived). I guess that style concerns have been elevated since my solitary days; but even I'll admit that the kitchen is a new set of curtains away from qualifying as very much improved.

Now I'll just have to see how the Christmas decorating goes. With December here and the snow falling, it is about that time. I think that I'll get a tree sometime next week. Really, though, as long as I have the eight foot inflatable Santa Homer outside, anything else is just a bonus.

J.

[prev] -702- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]