Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2004-12-17 - 1:42

December crunch

As has quickly become a tradition, we are in the usual December panic mode at work. I don't know why we always set up a big deliverable for the end of the year; but it always comes out that way. I think that perhaps the boss just gets antsy at the thoughts of a pending break. (Such are the drawbacks of working under a workaholic.)

Although an excess of coding has left me unmotivated for writing on the computer at home, I just finished my Death From Above 1979 concert recap. That show went down about a week and a half ago and it was as fantastic as expected. Babylon was full, for a change, and on time, for a change. (The latter is particularly noteworthy, as I've gotten used to hip hop shows, which always run late.)

That was presumably my last concet for the year, while tonight was probably my last missed opportunity. I would've liked to see Stars, as I'm rather fond of their new album, but I didn't see how I could swing that with other commitments to meet. Ah well. Other notable misses this year: Modest Mouse, Wilco, and Sonic Youth (all came while I was on vacation); Brother Ali (missed after travelling back from a PJ Harvey show in Toronto); Neko Case (I thought about hitting Toronto for what became her live album recordings); Carolyn Mark, Arcade Fire (only played Wakefield, for some reason); Mogwai, Trail of Dead (only came as close as Montreal, although I saw them at Coachella); and Pinback (also came no closer than Montreal, with no consoltaion prize). I'm sure that I'm forgetting some others.

Whew. It looks bad when I put it like that; but I still saw 28 shows over the year, including Coachella, Einst�rzende Neubauten (twice), The Black Heart Procession, Eyedea & Abilities (twice), Hayden (twice), Slayer, The Fiery Furnaces, Sixtoo & DJ Signify, Franz Ferdinand, Magnolia Electric Co., Alice Cooper, Metallica, PJ Harvey, Beastie Boys, and Death From Above 1979 (twice). Not a bad year, by any stetch, even without my usual mainstays, The Dears and Buck 65.

I am pretty geared up for Christmas. Last weekend was the tree set-up, which went very smoothly (after mooching Greg's truck services for the actual tree acquisition). This is the first year that I have put up a tree and I'm really enjoying it. If nothing else, the smell certainly solidifies the Christmas mood. As long as all the needles don't fall off before we leave next week, I'll be content.

I've also been forced into not leaving my shopping for the last few days, since some gifts had to be mailed. I'm pretty much down to just needing to finish off a few things for Laurie.

The other bonus lately is that I've been getting in lots of games. A few months back, I started my Scrabble revival; and I'm now able to beat Laurie once in a while. (I came back from 106 points down the other day.) We also have Nick hooked; but he's returned the favour by picking up a bunch of board games and card games and getting us hooked.

With Nick, Aaron, and Loralei popping over sometimes, I also finally have the five-person set-up needed for the ideal game of Auction 45s. One of these days, I'll have to visit the homestead and get Laurie to play 45s with the folks. Once you hold 60-for-120 in the right situation, you're pretty much a member of the family.

J.

[prev] -703- [next]

[View or add comments (3)]