Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-01-10 - 1:35

Johnny Five

No, the holiday trip to Laurie's homestead didn't kill me; I've just been slacking on my journal updates, as usual.

Actually, the entire Christmas break went very well. The five or six days at Laurie's were quite relaxing. I even managed to squeak out a win at the inaugural Super Scrabble match (albeit only by going out first), a feat that I have yet to duplicate at home.

Between the holidays and a few vacation days, I didn't have to go back to work until after New Year's, leaving me plenty of time to play the latest installment of Ratchet & Clank (a Christmas tradition).

New Year's itself was a rather quiet affair. Instead of my usual large get-together, this year I just hosted Nick, Aaron, and Loralei. That made for a very casual, enjoyable night; and I still brought the new year in with T-bones. Proper!

The greatest development of 2005 is Laurie's surprising addiction to the new Paper Mario. Although she had asked for the game as a Christmas present, I didn't anticipate her total absorbtion by it. The joy in this obsession is that it gets me off the hook for all my past video game transgressions, when "just a minute" turned into an hour or two. (Damn you, Rise of Nations!) The only question now is: should I break down and subscribe to World of Warcraft? Heheh.

Although I didn't spend too much time on the computer over the break, I have now finished polishing three of the concert reviews that I've had in half-complete form for a while. If you're interested, I have recaps for the Ottawa visits from Alice Cooper, the Beastie Boys, and Eyedea & Abilities.

My only lingering review is for the Pixies concert at the end of November, which I should hopefully knock off soon. That one will probably be more cursory, anyway, since I am not as keyed in to that band.

On the other hand, I will have some new shows to detail soon enough. I'll probably catch Joel Plaskett with Cuff the Duke, since I enjoyed both acts when I saw them last year. The confirmed concerts are Bright Eyes, since Laurie is a big fan, and Neko Case with the Sadies, both of which are in Montreal. I also have a few other local possibilities that may be game-time decisions.

So, after a nice break, I already have some shows to anticipate in '05. Can't complain.

J.

[prev] -705- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]