Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2005-02-08 - 0:48

Sycophantic German

The board game and cards streak continues. Staying on the Rio Grande kick, I borrowed Bohnanza from Aaron and ended up enjoying it so much that I picked up my own copy, along with High Bohn Plus.

Also new to the mix on my side is Power Grid, which is the longest game that we've bought so far, taking about two hours to play. It seems to be a good one, based on the first couple of sessions. On the other side of the spectrum, Aaron's latest acquisition, San Juan, seems to be a game that you can breeze through in a hurry, while still being quite fun.

I think that we all need to declare a moratorium on new purchases, so we can actually get good at the games we have. (Actually playing everything at least twice would be a good start.)

Of course, there's also Scrabble, if anyone is up for a real whooping. Who knew that "tromboned" wasn't a word? I thought that it was like "drummed" or "trumpeted"; but it turns out to be more like "guitared" or "clarineted." Ah well. I'll take a win any way I can.

The music front is somewhat quiet lately. With last weekend being fairly busy, I missed Cuff the Duke playing at Babylon. On the plus side, I did paint the spare bedroom. The latest Neko Case show is fast approaching, though, and a couple of distant concerts are now on the radar: Gift of Gab and Sarah Slean, both in April.

This year's Coachella line-up ain't bad. It's pretty weak at the top; but the undercard is solid. I'm doubting that I'll be heading down this year, although if anyone out there wanted to talk me into it, it's still possible. If I do end up skipping it, I'll take solace in the fact that I've already seen most of the bands that interest me in that line-up: Buck 65, Sage Francis, the Fiery Furnaces, Sixtoo, Wilco, Bright Eyes, Sloan, Matmos, and Boom Bip. Of course, I also wouldn't complain if I could see the majority of those acts in one weekend, along with MF Doom, the Arcade Fire, Subtle, and a few others. (I must proclaim that the new Subtle CD far surpasses their seasonal series of albums and is the best work that I've heard from Dose in a long time.)

New Sage Francis album tomorrow. Ooh. Aah. Now if only he would tour Canada . . .

J.

[prev] -707- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]