Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2006-04-18 - 0:10

Thrashed

My lack of updating promptness continues. As usual, I'll rattle off the concert scoop first. The only show since I last wrote was Blackalicious, which I recapped here. Aaron and I went to that and had a good time, even though the show's pacing was off, with a late start and long changeover times.

The slowness wasn't so bad, since I actually sat for the affair. I guess I can excuse that lack of hardcoretitiude as being due to age, especially since that concert came the day after Aaron's 30th birthday. As expected, Blackalicious were consummate professionals, delivering a flawless and fun performance.

Although it appears that April will be concert-free, I did catch a really interesting movie called Sidekick. It's a small Canadian production that the creators are currently showcasing on a quick Canadian tour. It only played in Ottawa one night, with the writer, director, and a couple of the actors in attendance.

Given the film's low budget, I was expecting something amateurish but hopefully entertaining. It turned out to be a surprisingly well-made movie that looked great and had a sharp plot. I'd recommend it to anyone. Currently, the only scheduled airings are on the remainder of this tour (Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, and Vancouver); but with any luck, the movie will be picked up for a wider distribution.

Not too much else has been on the go. Spring is making its presence felt; the warm, sunny days have got the flowers poking through in the garden. (It turns out that the squirrels didn't steal all the bulbs.)

Of course, the real sign of spring is the hockey playoffs. As of tonight, the Habs are in! Now I just need to see if they play Ottawa or Carolina. If it's the Sens, I'll have to try to get tickets to a game here. Watch for the upset!

J.

[prev] -740- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]