Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2007-04-13 - 2:00

Watch it, flapjack

So, April is turning out to be even more of a concert turnaround than I was expecting. I thought that things would be picking up with two weekend shows, Apostle of Hustle on Saturday and Interpol on Sunday. However, on Tuesday, someone on the Punk Ottawa message board posted about a Buck 65 show that would be taking place at Algonquin College the next night. Of course, I made it to that, which made up for missing a student-only concert a little over a week ago that included Buck and The Dears.

I am surprisingly on the ball, having already posted my real show review. (I think this is among my better concert writing in a while, too.)

I really enjoyed the opener, The Phonogarde, who was a great fit for Buck. Of course, Buck is always great. After a couple of short festival sets and a short slot opening for Moby, it was cool to see Buck with a little more time to settle in. As usual, he chatted with the fans afterward, giving me a joking, "what a surprise to see you," as this was my twelfth Buck concert.

It's good that the concert was yesterday, as that was one of the few when work was not crazy. Things have been super busy but I think it's all coming together. Today I finally got to code a feature that I've been constantly interrupted from since I started trying to write it last week. I think that means I'm through what I needed to do, barring any emergencies. The Easter long weekend was a much-appreciated break, for sure, but things picked up again this week. I'd be happy to see everything calm down for a while.

J.

[prev] -770- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]