Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2007-07-09 - 1:25

Tradition?

Bluesfest rolls along. Tonight's headliner was The White Stripes and, well . . .

Yes, we did the friggin' charity auction again, at Laurie's insistence. I didn't try to top last year's proposal, though. Instead, we just enjoyed the show and looked out on the ridiculously massive crowd from high above the stage.

This show came on the heels of last night's staggering set from Manu Chao, which I wrote about here. That concert was absolutely crazy. I couldn't believe how many times I thought that the guy was done, only to see him come roaring back on stage. And every time that he did, the crowd kept dancing and jumping and clapping along.

Friday's showing couldn't compete with that spectacle but it was still a fun night. I caught sets from Kid Koala, B�la Fleck and the Flecktones, and Wil; and the whole recap is here.

Overall, Bluesfest is going great. The weather has been holding out, despite the forecasts, and there have been some great surprises in the bands so far. Hopefully, the second half stays strong. No more auctions, though!

J.

[prev] -775- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]