Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-07-15 - 01:07

I want my funk uncut

To quickly update the soccer situation, Jamal, for all his mouthing off, didn't show up for the challenge; and our team blew a big lead to go down 8-6. Ah well . . . you can't win 'em all.

Tonight's big news was the Fresh Festival, featuring Parliament and The Roots. The festival continues through the weekend, so I'll save my full review until then. However, since those were the two main bands that I was interested in, tonight was the big one. To sum it up, I was very, very impressed.

Aaron, Nick, and I bussed down, deliberately missing most of Len's set. Parliament's show was pure fun. I spent the night dancing away and singing along to such classic funk tunes as "Up For the Downstroke," "Atomic Dog," "P Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up)," and "Give Up the Funk."

The undisputed highlight was the set closer, "Flash Light" (my favourite Parliament track). The band encouraged the crowd to rush the stage. Sure enough, after a few minutes, one girl led the charge. She was the best Parliament fan in the whole crowd (and my hero for kicking things off); and she deservingly made it up on stage, despite security.

Shortly thereafter, the tentative crowd made up its collective mind; and a lot of us hopped the fence and dashed for the front. I made it to the stage . . . and made a weak attempt at pulling myself up on it. Security chased me away after that, so I didn't get another opportunity. I can say that I gave it a good try; but, if I had it to do over again, I would've made the stage.

(Just to clarify, I'm generally not a fan of people getting on the stage; but this occasion called for it.)

The Roots show, which for me was the Number One part of the Fresh Fest line-up, was also stellar. The band is a very tight live unit; and they kicked it very hard.

As I said, I'm saving a more complete review for later; but I'll add one more "Woooooooooooooooooh!" to a night of screaming and dancing and having a great time :)

J.

[prev] -48- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]