Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-08-15 - 1:19

What for brains?

For tonight's entry, I have a nice pleasant story from work. On the wall in the printer room is a tray where you can place people's printouts if they don't pick them up. Personally, I don't use it, because when I print somthing, I snag it within a few minutes. In that case, it's easier to find your sheets on the printer rather than on the wall; but it's good to have the tray to hold papers, rather than letting them sit around for days.

Anyway, I printed something today, went in and picked it up, hot off the presses; and the guy waiting behind me tore into me for not filing the rest of the papers! When I say tore into me, I mean that he was intensely confrontational.

It was quite surreal and I was taken aback with how to respond. I shrugged it off and he mocked me for that. As I was walking away, he started actually swearing about it. I turned around and told him that I considered that behaviour inappropriate and he barked back, "You started it!" I paused while walking away, looked back, and he called me f***-for-brains (!) What's up with that?

It's amazing to me the way that some people act. I can't fathom how a supposedly rational human being carries himself that way, especially at work. As far as I'm concerned, if he's blowing his top and my reaction (after my initial disbelief is broken) is to laugh at him (as I did), I can't help but have the upper hand.

It was simply a bizarre experience. I guess it's good that I'm easy-going and that I chose to be more amused by his psychosis than I was angry.

Other than that bit of fun, today was rather uneventful. We made an overdue trip for groceries and hung out at the house tonight. Unfortunately, my screwing around on the guitar was cut short when I broke a string (d'oh!). I guess we'll head out soon to get strings (for that guitar and the 12-string). When we do, I might just buy my own guitar, since the ones here belong to Colin and Jaclyn and will be disappearing shortly.

In other roommate news, Nick, who had recently decided to try to stay in Ottawa and finish his degree here, had those plans squashed. Instead, he'll be back to Halifax for one last term, as scheduled; and then he has a job lined up for here in January. He was a little disappointed; but I think it'll work out well. I think that it's a good idea to finish the degree now and then get down to business. And it's very good to know that he'll definitely be coming back next year.

That's it for now. Hopefully, the only confrontations at work tomorrow will take place on the soccer field :)

[prev] -72- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]