Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-11-05 - 23:00

And the colour was red

With my last entry, I promised pictures and a recap of the party. Well, the pictures have been online since this afternoon, so I guess that it's time for the writing.

For starters, I have to say that I'm really happy with how the hair dye turned out. A few piercings and tattoos and I'll be ready to join Sepultura (heheh). Once again, I find myself looking forward to the reaction at work. In my opinion, though, red isn't too crazy. The common opinion here seems to be that it doesn't look too freaky; but I'm content that it's freaky enough (for starters).

The party itself was pretty straightforward. Just like our April party, this one was essentially Maneesh's show. The guests were almost all people who he swims with. It's a fairly cool crowd, although definitely a lot younger than everybody living here.

I remembered quite a few people from the spring party. It was funny/sad to see the same guy who got way too drunk really quickly the first time get too drunk again. There's something to be said for consistency, I guess. Kids. On the other side of things, Maneesh and I had the Xs on our hand for straight edge, so we weren't drinking at all; and neither was Parag.

As before, I made it a point to take over the DJing duties, using Carter's mixer to keep the flow going. I always love that role, although I don't understand the reactions, sometimes.

Girl: "Do you have music that's good."
Me: "I have about 600 CDs . . . what do you want to hear?"
Girl: "Something that isn't bad."
Me: "That's very specific of you."

I ended up picking out some Dr. Dre for her, although she seemed to have missed the fact that I played back-to-back Dre earlier in the night. Of course, if it's not the new single from the new album, I wouldn't expect most of that crowd to know it. I'd hate to hear them if I just picked out my favourites, instead of going for a partying mix.

It was exactly like in April, though. The punk guys liked it when I played a heavy pack. I also played around with some hip-hop stuff (B-Boys, ODB, etc.), dancey stuff (Moby, B�a, Goldie, etc.), and whatever else I could think of or had given to me. I had fun, at any rate.

The party itself was pretty cool. We were expecting more people, and a few more bodies in the mix wouldn't have hurt. On the other hand, at least no damage was done and nobody threw up this time.

Well, "no damage" is a mild overstatement. More than a few donuts got squashed into the carpet. (I cursed people out pretty well when I came into my room and found a box upended on the floor.) But, after this morning's clean-up, the place is looking better than it has since the start of September. More troubling is the fact that one of my Yo La Tengo CDs is missing in action . . .

So, I'm not sure if I made the party sound too exciting in this write-up. I think that I did a better job with my pictures, though, so go check those out. At least I got to add photographer to my party job description of music man; and it was fun chilling with the boys . . . even if somebody did fall asleep after ordering a pizza and stick me with paying for it (heheh).

J.

[prev] -125- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]