Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2001-01-08 - 0:29

You're just a loverful

Nick moved back in Friday night, so it is once again a full house. It's really cool having Nikolai back as my roommate for the third time. It instantly feels like he never left; and I'm sure it'll be another fun stint.

I spent a fair amount of time with the roommates this weekend, going out for supper or just hanging around the house.

I did get out by myself for a while tonight, walking down to the mall. It felt nice to get outside with a slight chill in the air, a light snowfall, and Neubaten on the headphones. The music seemed to suit the winter; and I always enjoy the solitude of a long walk.

I picked up a couple of new CDs, which was part of the reason for the trip. I'm quite taken by The Dears, a Montreal band whose first single caught my attention a few months ago. I managed to find their disc tonight, along with the very cool soundtrack to Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai.

Maybe I have solitude on my mind, because that was certainly a theme of Ghost Dog, and of the latest Henry Rollins book, Smile, You're Traveling.

I tore through about half of that today. It's a very enjoyable read. Hank's last two books have been so much more accessible than his earlier writing; and this volume is strictly journal entries. There are a few recurring themes that have me thinking; but I think that I'll come back to most of them with another entry.

I will say that the concept of not settling for the mediocre and the comfortable is resonating with me. I think that I will be very shortly making a decision that will move me from the familiar into a new challenge. My mind is very much made up; but I need to have a few details worked out first.

Apart from that, not much is up. As a closing note, if a certain someone is reading this, happy birthday!

J.

[prev] -161- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]