Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-04-05 - 2:54

Another last chance until it's over

It's another low-key, low-excitement entry, I'm afraid. Today was another in the classic cycle of work/sleep/eat/watch an episode of Jackass from Oak's burned CDs.

And there's always the nightly standard of wasting time on the Internet. I couldn't resist stepping into the drug argument on the Blast Furnace. I spend more effort arguing in favour of legalizing drugs than any straight edge person I know. Oh wait . . . I don't know anyone else who is straight edge. Ehh, it still strikes me as funny.

Oh yes, that's why today was notable: new CDs. Yes, I just had new CDs arrive on Tuesday; but I have a few separate shipments on the way. Today's arrivals were a Will Oldham disc (one of the few that I had been missing), along with the latest from Cornelius and Fishbone.

Cornelius seems to have put together another interesting disc, although I'm still not as blown away by him as some other fans and critics seem to be. On the other hand, I won't deny his status as half of the greatest rock and roll couple in the world, since he is married to Takako Minekawa.

The Fishbone EP has me looking forward to the upcoming concert, especially after hearing the long closing number, with Dr. Madd Vibe action (i.e., Angelo Moore doing poetry, rather than singing). Very funky.

Actually, that show is only a few weeks away--time seems to be flying by lately.

Speaking of concerts, I just noticed that District Seven is on the Warped Tour this year. That's quite a jump up from playing the Carleton University pub, where I saw them with Maneesh many moons ago. So, if anybody goes to Warped this year, they're my recommendation (despite the fact that they seem to have lost my concert review in their latest web site redesign).

J.

[prev] -434- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]