Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-04-26 - 2:06

Cold shot

Well, uh . . . I did have the best seat in the house, I suppose.

Tonight's Habs-Bruins game did not have such a positive outcome as the last; but I still had a good time there. I lack the energy to recap the whole night, so I'll cut to the finish.

With two and a half minutes to go and Montreal trailing 5-2, Odjick and Stock had a nice scrap. That was very predictable, although it was fun watching them square off before the puck was dropped, with everybody knowing what was coming. At any rate, that was a standard hockey move that gave the crowd something to cheer about.

One minute after that, though, Kyle McLaren pulled a total goon job with a ridiculous elbow on Zednik (who had scored both Canadiens goals). Yes, the same Kyle McLaren who bumped Zednik after the end of the first period in Game 2, before flopping to the ice for a penalty.

Things got very ugly after that, with fans throwing garbage on the ice and, after Zednik was finally taken off the ice, the players continuing to fight.

With my seat directly behind the penalty box, I had a great view for a lot of the action, including one fan letting loose a ten minute stream of profanity to the Bruins players in the box. A security guard was being quite attentive of any carryings-on near the box, although farther down the rink, one fan jumped on to the ice.

Of course, that's a dumb move, as is throwing trash on the ice; but it was still an interesting spectacle. It was definitely a memorable game to witness. The next contest (Saturday afternoon) promises to be well worth watching.

So, now I am guaranteed that there will be a hockey game in Montreal on Monday, so I can try to figure out my travel plans. (I have tickets for that game as well as Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds on Monday.) A regulation game wraps up by 10:00 and the doors open at 8:30 for Cave, so, with Neko Case opening, I think that I should be able to catch most of the Bad Seeds set after the game. Of course, I'm also seeing the band in Toronto on Sunday, so I can afford to lose some of the Montreal show. We'll see.

I have other things that I've been putting off writing; but I should be able to catch up tomorrow, since (for a change) I have nothing much on the go after work.

J.

[prev] -448- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]