Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-06-19 - 1:35

God loves ugly

The new album by Atmosphere, whose Lucy Ford ranked among my half dozen favourites of last year, is amazing. God Loves Ugly is every bit as wistful and exposed and desperately intense and wryly funny as Lucy. Slug is the man.

Actually, I had seven CDs arrive today; but I haven't had time to go through the others yet. Also in the bundle were more Anticon discs, a couple of Moka albums, and the older Blackalicious CD.

I was less than energetic this morning, so I only made it out of bed in time to watch the extra time of the Korea-Italy match; but at least I saw the right team win. I'm thinking of taking Friday morning off, so I can watch 2:30 England-Brazil game (go England) and the 7:30 Germany-USA game (go Germany) and get some sleep afterwards. Work isn't too crazy lately; so as long as I get things done the next couple of days, it shouldn't be a problem to stay in on Friday. (It helps when the boss is a soccer fan.)

Oh, speaking of work, I had just taken my food off the barbecue and sat it in front of me tonight, when the phone rang. The alarm had gone off at the office, so I had to go in to check that out. It turned out to be nothing; but it still burned away a chunk of my night. Grumble.

Anyway, not too much is on the go lately: working, watching the World Cup, arguing with stupid people on the Blast Furnace (I'm bored, so I'm trying to make some new enemies), going through new CDs . . . the usual.

On the plus side, I only have to work until the middle of next week, which is when the Linux Symposium starts. Three of us will be attending that, and then the following week is a company shut-down, so I'm closing in on a good break.

I'm also curious to meet Werner, when he is in town for the Kernel Summit (just before OLS). Anyone who Dr. J actively fears will kill him with partying is certainly worth meeting, so hopefully we'll cross paths.

J.

[prev] -479- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]