Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-07-01 - 2:09

Eh, I gave my oysters to the cat

Alas. My thirteen-year vomit-free streak has gone down the drain. Err, so to speak.

Prior to that, the end of the week wound down fairly well. I enjoyed the remainder of OLS, even if I did apparently get roped into volunteering to do some work on the side. It was fun hanging out with Werner and Robert all week, as well as the boys from work, (of course), and some of the others.

Late Friday night, Jon and Jen arrived, so I went out to supper with Greg, Kelly, and them. That was cool, although in retrospect I tend to place the blame for Saturday on that supper.

Saturday morning, I made it back in to OLS with Dr. J, where I witnessed him ripping apart one of the speakers. (He really does need me to keep him in line.)

By the time that the first presentation ended, I wasn't feeling so well, so I skipped out on the next one. That turned out to be a wise decision, since I was sick very shortly thereafter. I took a cab home and was out of commission for the rest of the day. Actually, it wasn't until quite late at night that I felt strong enough to even walk down the stairs.

Fortunately, I was better when I woke up this morning. The suddenness of the onset and departure lead me to guess that it was food poisioning. Of course, I was still rather run down, so I took it quite easy for the rest of the day.

It's too bad that I missed the OLS closing party and that I wasn't able to get up in time for the World Cup final. I had really been looking forward to both. Although, after catching the game on a later replay, it turned out to be a disappointment, anyway. (Germany could've had it!)

Perhaps the biggest let-down, though, is the end of the thirteen-year streak. It's hard to believe that I'll hold out until the middle of 2015, so this may have been the passing of a lifetime record. Heh.

On the plus side, at least I should be back in shape for Canada Day tomorrow. I've had bad luck pulling off a quality Canada Day in my few years at Ottawa: flying away in '99, working in 2000, and having the crazy winds blow in and cancel the fireworks last year.

Considering the fact that the temperature is supposed to hit 33 tomorrow, I don't think that I'll have to worry about a freak cold front cancelling the show this year. I think that my only concern should be ensuring that I'm rehydrated after yesterday.

J.

[prev] -484- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]