Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-07-02 - 1:29

This is true

Well, I can finally say that I pulled off a successful Canada Day in Ottawa. Actually, I had a lot of fun last year, as well; but this time we actually made it downtown for the fireworks.

Nick, his fiend Jason, and I went to Bill and Jen's place this afternoon, for a kick-ass barbecue. Their new place is very nice, with ample room for the tons of people were there (or should I say tonnes to be Canadian?). In addition to the hosts, Greg, Kelly, Jon, Jen, Don, Chad, and Laurie were there, Ian was back in Ottawa again (and still thanking me for that extra Chili Peppers ticket I had two years ago), and there were lots of other people around.

With the extreme heat, relaxing in a house for the afternoon with a lot of friends was an ideal escape. By 8:00 or so, eight of us (Greg, Kelly, Jon, Jen, Don, Nick, Jason, and I) did decide to bus it downtown, where we wormed our way onto Parliament Hill for the end of the concert (I must admit, David Usher's "Ozzy" bit was good for a laugh) and the fireworks.

Okay, yeah, the fireworks were positioned a bit low for that vantage point; but what the hell? It was still a blast to be in the massive crowd, enjoying the party. I'm there for the company more than the specifics of the show, anyhow. Loud noises, pretty colours, silly people, lots of pictures, lots and lots of laughs--that's a fine Canada Day, by me.

It was definitely great to get together with some kick-ass people this weekend, several of whom I hadn't seen in quite a while. That's an awesome group, for sure; and I had a lot of fun.

And, while I'm in a good mood: yay for my week off; and yay for the fact that I am within four weeks of home ownership.

Even having my theory of universal adoration thrown into some doubt, when a mother on the bus actually turned her baby in the opposite direction so it wouldn't scream in terror at the sight of me, is not enough to shake my seriously good mood.

Oh, who am I kidding? That only made me more amused.

J.

[prev] -485- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]