Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-07-31 - 1:04

And you have guitars!

Today was ridiculously productive. I was awake by six (well, mainly from excitement), and to the house for 8:00. By 9:00, I had my stereo set up and all was good. I put on Let Love In and spent a while jumping around, soaking in new-house-ness, before getting back to work unpacking and organizing. (As an aside, the acoustics in that room are much better than what I had in my old place.)

My parents made it over late in the morning and quickly pitched in. The cable guy arrived before noon. His job turned out to be much more demanding than the average call, just because of the layout of the house; but the resolution is that I have cable and (obviously) Internet working.

My massive Leon's delivery came around 1:00. The guys unloading the truck were cool. One guy was properly impressed by my CD collection, which was still sitting in boxes in the living room, and by my Montreal Canadiens gear; while the driver chatted with my father about the Voyageurs.

The old man and I went to work assembling the furniture, while mom cleaned up a lot. By suppertime, we had set up a bed, kitchen table and chairs, couch, swivel chair, and, err, half a coffee table. Oh yes, the salesman forgot to include the top of my coffee table in the order. Also, my ottoman was missing its bolts.

Fortunately, Leon's is just on the other side of the highway, so after I did a clean-up job, we got those omisions straightened out and also picked up a desk for my computer.

It took a fair amount of time to get that done, so we stopped for supper, at my office's regular Friday lunch venue, Darcy's. Our usual waitress, Stephanie, was working; and it was great to get a chance to sit down and relax for the first time all day.

After that, I hustled through a bit more shopping. I forgot to pick up pillows, which I thought of after the stores had closed; but during a return visit to the townhouse, Aaron bailed me out. I also broke my all-time grocery record, although I failed by inches to break the $300 mark.

When we got home, of course, we finished assembling the coffee table. I also got my desk together and set up my computer.

I would say that anyone who missed yesterday's house tours will be in for a very different first impression, given how well we got everthing together today. The folks were an amazing help.

There are a couple of obvious things that remain to be done. I don't have my CD towers yet, so all my CDs are still in boxes. Similarly, I have a wall's length of boxes containing books; but no bookcases. Those deficiencies can be solved easily, though.

Of course, there will be tons of little things still to do; but the major efforts are progressing very quickly.

Oh, and I didn't mention the best part. My parents got me the perfect housewarming gift: a barbecue! There shall be steaks tomorrow.

J.

[prev] -499- [next]

[View or add comments (2)]