Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-09-02 - 1:18

Angry ants and eye patches

As expected, I did take the start of the weekend easy, before having people over this afternoon, although I did make a few trips to pick up things for the house. Not long ago, I realized that I'm on a good bus route to the mall; so on each excursion, I've been hauling back as much as I think I'll be able to carry for the length of the walk to the bus stop. I think that soon I'll shift my focus from functional purchases to aesthetic ones. 'Cause, of course, I'm all about the pretty. Or something like that.

Today was great. In addition to the regular locals--Greg, Kelly, Aaron, and Loralei--I was also host to Jon, Jen, and Ian, who were visiting from Fredericton. It's always good to see that crew. As has been typical for this summer, it was another beautiful, sunny day. I really enjoyed taking care of the barbecuing, with the living room windows open for stereo accompaniment (Johnny Cash, Alice in Chains, Leonard Cohen).

We had a ton of food on the go: four steaks, five kabobs, a few burgers, a dozen cobs of corn, veggies and dip, potato salad, cresent rolls, and cookies. (Admittedly, I can't take credit for the tail end of that list; but everybody seemed happy with everything that I grilled, so my job was a success.) In fact, it was too much food, but leftovers are a good thing for someone who isn't making it to the grocery store as often as he should.

Being able to have a get-together like that really makes me psyched about having the house. Kick-ass food; cool music; and some of the most enjoyable, funny people I know for company . . . what more could I ask?

Of the few people who didn't make it here today, I think that I'm getting together with Flett tomorrow. It's too bad that he was tied up, since he told me that he had picked up a rib steak "the size of a toilet seat." Unfortunately, he had some last-minute company arrive, but he should be free tomorrow. If so, I'll get him to bring over a guitar, so I can double my usual noise output. (Well, okay, his playing tends to be slightly more on the musical side of the audible spectrum than my own, so perhaps I should say double my usual volume.) That'd be a cool wrap-up to a very enjoyable long weekend.

J.

[prev] -515- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]