Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2002-09-16 - 1:08

Give me a pound or a hug

Another bonus of the house: now when I'm in a bad mood at midnight, I can listen to Atmosphere at excessive volume. (God Loves Ugly has joined the ranks of therapeutic albums, by the way.)

This weekend was another trip to the cottage, which was a lot of fun. There was enough of a sunny stretch on Saturday that I made it in the lake for what was presumably my last swim of the year. Along with the usual barbecue and campfire and relaxing, I brought along my acoustic this time, for a little guitar fumbling.

Don had to take off early on Saturday, which made us a group of five. Naturally, I did the right thing and taught people how to play Auction 45s (the best five-hand game there is). The combination of extreme dryness and high winds made our usual roaring blaze a sketchy idea, so it was cool to stay inside playing cards.

Staying at the cottage is always a great time. I really enjoy being with that crew; but I also enjoy when everyone packs it in before me, giving me a chance to stay up by myself, watching the fire and the stars, as I did on Friday. The sense of quiet is a good thing, although the thinking does sometimes drift in directions that leave me in a bad mood on a Sunday midnight.

I took it easy today after getting back, although I did finally give up on my horribly disintegrating sneakers, popping out to buy a new pair.

I also decided that I am definitely taking a week off in October. I booked my ticket for home, so the Cat Power concert will be a go.

The other good concert news for today is that Atmosphere's tour is bringing them to Ottawa in November, with Sixtoo opening. God Loves Ugly is easily among my favourite releases for the year and Sixtoo's Duration project had some fantastic instrumental work; so that concert should be killer.

J.

[prev] -520- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]