Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2003-12-10 - 1:55

Smashie?

I think (hope?) that by the end of the week (or Monday at the worst), work should be calm. Things are under control now, in that I think I have time to finish what needs finishing; but there's little margin for error.

As long as I grind through this week and next, though, I am home free. Literally so, as I booked my flight to Halifax for the 21st, with a return on the 29th. As always, Christmas should be a much enjoyed break.

For the first time since I've been with the company, it seems that the year is ending on a rather positive mood, so hopefully that trend continues, as well.

I saw Elephant last weekend with Laurie, who appreciated it much more than I. I found it interesting for a time; but ultimately lacking purpose. The notions of story arc and character development were cast aside in favour of simply painting a mood. I can accept the gratuitous arty film techniques; but if the intention was for me to walk away with something to think about, I'd have to say that I could have done equally well by skipping the movie and just talking about its topic for 81 minutes. Nothing would have been lost.

I got an early Christmas present today, as Nick gave me a GameCube. Coolness! He had acquired an extra system, which turned out to be my gain. I think that he gave it to me early because he got worried that I would buy one when I found out that there was a new Mario Kart title. ("I'm-a Wario and I'm-a gonna win!")

Tomorrow should see the arrival of the man, the myth, the legend, the president of the clock club himself, Mr. McPeak. (Also known as one of the two guys I went to visit in Boston this spring, for those who are actually trying to follow along.) I am sure to triumph in the rematch.

J.

[prev] -657- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]