Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-09-05 - 10:31

Wanted man who won't lay down

I can see in your eyes
When you make up your mind
That I'll never be lonesome again

Lois Maffeo rules, as I've realized since I first heard The Union Themes. Her music is an inspiration, especially since I read that she didn't start playing guitar until she was 24. Of course, she also has an amazing voice (perhaps the most beautifully heartbreaking voice of any singer I know) and an ability to write excellent songs--two talents I lack; so I don't think that I'll be following her example any time soon. Ehh, you never know . . . maybe if I keep practicing, someday I'll follow through on the offer to become the rhythm guitarist for The Dickmen. Heheh.

The music I listen to on the way to work can set the tone for the day. Today it was Lois, yesterday it was Johnny Cash's live recording of his 1969 San Quentin performance. (Yeah, I actually worked a partial day yesterday, despite the holiday. It was cool, though. It's easier to get work done with fewer people around.)

In particular, I keyed in on the song "Wanted Man." It's very interesting to hear the difference between how Johnny Cash and his band play the song and the Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds version from The Firstborn is Dead. After heading back home around 3:00, I looked up the tabs for the song and hammered away at it. While I was at it, I played around with part of another Cave song, "Well of Misery." (Okay, the part that I picked up from that song was actually for the bass; but what the hell . . . at least I found something to play.)

I got in a lot of practice yesterday. I'll have to get Colin to pop in for supper soon and make sure he brings his guitar. I've really gotten into the habit of playing every day. It's going to be weird to not have the guitar around when I'm on vacation. Although, as my brother said, Banff is enough of a hippie town that there must be some guitars kicking around.

It's also going to be weird to not have a computer around. A few years back, I didn't care at all if I went a month without touching a computer. Then, I got into the habit of going on IRC every night; and it felt really strange to have to go a couple of weeks without chatting. Those days have been gone for a while; but I can tell that I've replaced the pattern with a need to update this diary. I'm not sure whether or not I'll be updating when I'm away. If not, though, I expect that it'll feel very odd. We'll see how it goes soon enough.

Five days until vacation :)

J.

[prev] -88- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]