Newest Entry Older Entries Sign My Guestbook (You know you want to) Contact Me (Comments welcome) Read My Profile Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! Ann-Frank Downtown Pantsburg My Imagination The Pillow Fort Pop Noir Saint Louise Snafuuu Somabish Stacy Two Coffees Zhuni Jambalaya


2000-09-17 - 14:43

Canyonero

See, I can update more frequently than every three days. Yesterday was another fun day in Banff. John and I were sitting around, trying to decide what to do. I knew that I wanted to get outside again for some more hiking; but I wasn't sure where to go.

Ba-bamm! Griff calls us up: he has a car and he wants to know if we want to go to Johnston Canyon for a hike. Not too shabby.

The hike was pretty cool. It was about 6 km round trip, mostly on paved trail, so it wasn't a tough trek; but it takes you along the river to two waterfalls, so it's a cool view all the way.

There were a lot of people on the trail, especially compared to my climb up Tunnel, when I didn't see anyone until I hit the top but it was still fun to get outside again.

Today is John's 31st birthday. Hmm . . . maybe I should've picked him up a present before I came. Ah well, at least I brought he and Kelly a little gift from Ottawa for letting me mooch off them for two weeks. In any event, the cake that Kellly made last night was pretty tasty, so the birthday has that going for it.

So, I guess that this entry was the usual: more shorts-and-T-shirt weather, more hiking around the Rockies . . . the standard routine. Heheh. Not too shabby.

I also wanted to say that I agree with what cnnlly had to say in her recent entry. It's interesting the way that you can get to know someone through online journalling. There are a oouple of people now who I feel I know fairly well because of their journals and the occasional e-mail. I've also been surprised by a few random e-mails along the way.

I guess that it's a good thing that I picked a user name beginning with C, because that is how cnlly and I crossed paths. It's interesting how things work out. Actually, if I hadn't stumbled onto Jennie's writing through the old 50 Foot Queenie page, who knows if I would've even gotten into the journal idea.

Okay, I gotta go . . . the cat's attacking me.

J.

[prev] -94- [next]

[View or add comments (0)]